pea baby

Ain’t easy pulling up plants that aren’t working, even when you know it’s what good gardeners do. For days I had been dithering over the idea of cutting down my spring peas, which were lagging at eighteen inches tall. It was starting to seem that patience alone wasn’t going to do much for these guys. They were planted in a good south-facing location, by the backyard trellises, but about a month ago the fava beans in front of them took off, casting everything else in shadow.

I wasn’t about to sacrifice the favas, which are looking pretty edible lately.

The way the math works right now, every day the peas aren’t growing is another day that nothing else is up and going, either. It’s opportunity cost. And now that the calendar says summer, it’s high time to get beans into the ground.

Still I dithered. On solstice I began ripping out the peas one by one, staring with the runtiest, and it took me all day long. But it got easier the more I pulled — suddenly there was space in the garden again.

