kale-after-the-snow

The slush is finally about gone, and I’ve been out back poking around the garden. As expected there’s lots of dead stuff like lettuces, fennel, and spinach, the last of which were struggling anyway. And I’m not so sure about the fava beans, which froze solidly and now look more composted than some material in the actual compost pile.

The good news is that some of the winter crops look like they might come around with a little TLC and warmer weather. There’s the freezer-burned chard, which I may cut down to the stumps, and endive, which I chopped to the crown and potted up for forcing inside. The surprises are the mustard and purple broccoli, most of which looks relatively healthy, plus a few heads of intact raddichio. And of course the kale, which popped back up as though nothing of note happened during the past ten days.

I’m holding off on opening the worm bin that I moved under the backyard trellis after the first storm; I don’t really want to know what’s going on in there right now. My hope was that a little bit of shelter plus warmth from actively decomposing material would keep the worms from freezing, though it doesn’t matter now. There’s not much to be done about a box of dead worms except add fresh ones from the main bin when it warms up again.

