Feels like I’m always the one who’s late transplanting seedlings and putting on the tomato cages. You find out fast that casual tardiness can be costly. Like with last winter’s cover crop, which never sprouted, and which caused me to fritter away the months between January and May worrying as the rains depleted my soil.

Well, it isn’t always easy translating what you’ve learned into practice. But as part of getting my act together, I took out tomatoes, squash, and beans a couple weeks ago, hard as that was to do with viable-looking plants. In hindsight I’m thinking it was a good move. This weekend the cover crop was further along than it ever got last year, and most of the transplanted brassicas have put on fresh growth. I’m just hoping some will actually make it to spring this time around.

