cherry-2.jpg

Here we are practically to April and it snowed again today, second time in three days, big thick wet snowflakes falling past the cherry and azalea blossoms and melting on sidewalks. Snow is rare weather in Seattle even in deepest winter, so I stood at the window for a while and watched it fall. It was strange and beautiful, but confusing. Was I supposed to worry about the newly transplanted lettuces? Should the broccoli sprouts come inside? Would apples still form on the tree this year? And will I need to re-seed the spinach?

Maybe the cold would finally discourage the slugs, I hoped.

This vegetable growing keeps me constantly attuned to the air temperature, the span of daylight, soil moisture. I like that. But I also worry over things that seem sort of irrational. I hope for rain during a dry spell, for sunshine when there’s rain, wonder whether tonight’s thirty-four degree low might really go to thirty-two. I’m coming to see why farmers always strove to conquer and subdue nature. It’s a way of thinking that catches a lot of flak these days and should, for many reasons. But where’s the moral high ground? When homegrown crops fail or when the CSA ends early, like it did after last year’s flooding, we just go back to the grocery store.

