We’ve got fourteen pounds of ground beef, so this seems like a good time to get started. We’re gearing up to watch the fourth game of the World Series, and the plan is burgers.

To start, I season the meat with salt and pepper, and this seems inadequate, so I toss in minced yellow onion and parsley. This still feels like not enough, so I add a slug of Worchestershire sauce, and only after the fact does this not seem like such a good idea. Anyway, as I stir, I decide the gound meat seems different, seems less oily than store-bought hamburger meat. I shape the patties, forming them gently, like the cookbooks instruct.

We put thick slices of red onion on to grill first, and as my husband Charlie heads back out with the patties, I remind him that this meat cooks real fast, that you’re not supposed to leave the grill until they’re done. Is he listening? Who knows, but a few minutes later he’s back, and we pile on the grilled onions, cheddar, and a creamy jalapeno sauce. The finished burgers are so beautiful that Charlie wants a photograph. When we finally sit down to eat, it’s the second inning, and the Sox are up by a run. The burgers? They’re smoky and savory and the bloody juices run down my palms and drip onto the plate. The flavor is deep and beefy, just right with a cold beer. Charlie polishes off his, then announces that the Sox are gonna wrap it up tonight. He claims that he’s not even nervous.

Recipe: Creamy Jalapeno Sauce for Burgers

Mix up ¼ c canola mayo, 2 tbl yogurt, 1 stem minced green onion, minced jalapeno to taste, 2 tsp minced cilantro, juice of ½ lime, salt, and cayenne pepper to taste.

